Category: Western Suburbs Magpies

The Western Suburbs Magpies is an Australian rugby league football club based in the western suburbs of Sydney. Formed in 1908, Wests, as they are commonly referred to, were one of the nine foundation clubs of the first New South Wales Rugby League competition in Australia.

It was decided by the club in the middle of 1999 that to survive the cull they would be required to merge their senior team with another club’s team. An agreement was reached with the Balmain Tigers on 27 July 1999.

The Wests Tigers first competed in the 2000 NRL competition. The club also merged its playing colours from the two joint venture partners.